Home > iDEAL Focus > Features > Dutch concerts wrap up the season
Dutch concerts wrap up the season
By Li Anlan

CONDUCTOR Yannick Nezet-Sequin will lead the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra next Friday and Saturday at the Shanghai Oriental Art Center.

French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras will be the guest soloist.

The program on Friday includes Beethoven's "The Creatures of Prometheus" Overture, Haydn's "Cello Concerto No. 1" and Brahms' "Symphony No. 1."

The concert on Saturday features Johan Wagenaar's overture to "Cyrano de Bergerac," Shostakovich's "Cello Concerto No.1", and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6, "Pathetique."

French Canadian Nezet-Sequin, 38, is a rising young conductor.

He is the music director of three orchestras: the Philadelphia Orchestra (2012/13 season), the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra (2008/09 season) and Orchestre Metropolitain of Montreal.

He has been principal guest conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra since 2008.

The upcoming concerts will be the closing performance of the Shanghai Oriental Art Center's 2012/13 season.

Before Nezet-Sequin was appointed, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra was under the baton of Valery Gergiev, who is the general director and artistic director of the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg. He is still honorary conductor in Rotterdam.

Over 13 years, Gergiev brought a different cultural background to the West European orchestra, introducing many works of Russian composers.

After Nezet-Sequin's appointment, he has introduced new ideas and energies,

Wagenaar is late 19th century Dutch composer. The "Cyrano de Bergerac" overture is Wagenaar's most successful piece, reflecting influence by Strauss and emphasis on heroism.

Russian composers Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky were of different era sand styles. Tchaikovsky wrote many well-loved classical works such as "Swan Lake" and the "1812 Overture." Shostakovich, who was born in the early 20th century, composed in a more hybrid style, as in the opera "Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District."

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 was his last composition and one of the world's most famous symphonies. He completed writing it nine days before his death.

Shostakovich's cello concerto was written in 1959 for his friend Mstislav Rostropovich, the one of the greatest cellists of all time.


Date: June 14-15, 7:30pm

Tickets still available: 380, 580, 880, 1,280 and 1,580 yuan

Tel: 6854-1234

Venue: Concert Hall of Shanghai Oriental Art Center

Address: 425 Dingxiang Rd, Pudong

Customer Service: (86-21) 52920164